Copyright jim ferguson 2018

Books - Jim Ferguson

   The art of catching a bus and other poems, AK Press, Edinburgh, 1994.


art of

This was Ferguson's first full collection of poems. The cover art by Euan Sutherland mocked the in-house style of the DHSS (Department of Health and Social Security), their 'Dole Card' and ticketing system for queuing at the 'Benefits Office'.


The collection was launched at Sammy Dow's pub, Nithsdale Road, Glasgow in 1994, with live music and dancing. Sammy's was known for its 'Words & Music' spoken word event which took place on the 1st Monday of each month hosted by the late Hughie Healy between 1989 and 2000. Ferguson was a regular participant and won the annual May Day Performance Poetry Competition at Sammy's three times.


Copies of the book can be bought from AKPress UK online.

PUNk Fiddle: a novel, Whirlpool Press, Edinburgh, 2013.



The novel Punk Fiddle began life as a longish short story the first draft of which was written around 1991/92 when the author lived in an attic flat on Glasgow's Sauchiehall Street. It took its final shape around 2008 by which time Ferguson had moved by a circuitous route via Edinburgh to Glasgow's East End where the short last chapter was written and the book edited into its current published shape. The book was designed and typeset by the author.






Sold Out

The Pine-Box-Jig Involves no Dancing, Whirlpool Press, Edinburgh, 2014.


A satirical look at the debate and 2014 referendum for Scottish Independence.

Funny and thought provoking 2014 journal of a Scottish hippy.


Published by Whirlpool Press on 8th August 2014.

Launched @ The Project Cafe, 134 Renfew Street, Glasgow. Readers included, Jim Ferguson, Margaret Fulton Cook and Sam Allen, with music from Ellen and Jim McAteer.


To purchase for £6.99 including postage click book cover.

Tannahill: The Soldiers's Return/Peace is the Prize,  Read Raw Press, Carluke, 2010.


For anyone interested in early nineteenth-century Scottish literature and theatre, and in particular the work of Robert Tannahill, 'Peace is the Prize' opens the door to Tannahill's work through erudite criticism and original research.


See also Dr Ferguson's award winning essay 'War, Empire, Slavery: Radicalism in the Work of Robert Tannahill' in the essays section of this website, click on cover.

For Eva: selected poems 1990-2016,  Famous Seamus Publishing, London, 2017.




A selection of poems form work published in pamphlets and magazines over a 26 year period.


Includes the poem 'Cultural Fuck-ups' as seen on Ferguson's youtube channel, click here to view!

when feeling fully at home in the drifting living room of time,  Famous Seamus Publishing, London, 2018.

jimfeelingathomein (2)-1



As the companion volume to 'For Eva', this book covers poetry written over a period of 30 years. It includes the sequences 'Strong Drink' and 'Travels in a Drifting Living Room on Sauchiehall Street, Glasgow' and the poems 'John Lennon's Elbow Transmits Text Messages to ma Brain' and 'Alex Harvey was our Guide'.


To purchase click here

 Neither Oil nor Water, Clochoderick Press, Paisley. 2018.


This is Ferguson's third book of fiction. Set in Glasgow and Palestine

in the late 1940s it follows the adventures of Glaswegian teenager Euan Andrews.  

£9.00 including post.

Oil Nor Oil Nor Buy Now